webmaster: Sven Koenig

USC Programming Contest

Spring 2010 USC Programming Contest (17 April 2010)


The problems are available as a PDF document. The table below contains sample solutions programmed by participants during the contest, as well as the input data and correct solutions used by the judges.

ProblemC/C++ solutionJava solutionJudges' solutionInputCorrect Output
A - Subway FaresJonathan SunTyler Breisacherfares.cfares.infares.out
B - Segment PricingAadarsh PatelHenry Yuenpricing.cpricing.inpricing.out
C - Network ExpansionRyan Brownno solutionexpand.cexpand.inexpand.out
D - Expansion OrderNoel OverkampKeegan Mosleyorder.javaorder.inorder.out
E - Map InterfaceDarryl DeWeeseCynthia Leemap.cmap.inmap.out
F - Wireless InterfaceJunda ChenCarey Zhangwireless.cwireless.inwireless.out


There were 34 participants. 29 students solved at least one problem, 22 solved at least two problems, 10 students solved at least 3 problems, 8 solved at least 4 problems, 4 solved at least 5 problems, and Aadarsh Patel and Ryan Brown solved all 6 problems. The top five participants were the following.

RankNameProblems solvedcumulative time
1Aadarsh Patel (CECS Senior)6554
2Ryan Brown (CECS Senior)6610
3Henry Yuen (Math Senior)5588
4Noel Overkamp (CS Games Senior)5760
5Keegan Mosley (CSCI MS)4279

The complete final standings are also available.

Cash prizes for the top four participants, food, T-shirts for everyone, etc. were provided thanks to our sponsors Lockheed Martin, Language Weaver, and Google. Computer games for many participants were also donated by Electronic Arts.

We would also like to thank several volunteers who made this programming contest possible. VSoE made the labs available for the contest, and provided competent technical support. Yixuan Wu helped develop sample solutions. Charlene Jeune helped as contest judge, and ACM (Andrew Ogden, Michelle Forcier, Gabe Deyerle) organized contest setup, check-in, and food.


Pictures of the contest are available for your viewing pleasure.

Overview Details Rules

Sponsors in Spring 2019
Electronic Arts
Northrop Grumman
Marconi Foundation